Indigenous Communities


It is recognised that the traditional custodians of the land on which Great Lakes Council is situated are the people of the Worimi nation and on the edges of the local government area, the Biripi nation.  Great Lakes Council acknowledges the traditional custodians of the land and elders past and present and the local Aboriginal culture and heritage.


Aboriginal Liaison Committee

Great Lakes Council's Aboriginal Liaison Committee advises Council on the needs of Aboriginal people living in the Great Lakes Local Government area

The Committee works to:

  1. Promote an increased knowledge and understanding of Aboriginal culture and society in the wider community and develop the interests of Aboriginal people in the Great Lakes area;
  2. Advise Council on issues relating to Aboriginal people;
  3. Act as a representative of Council on issues relating to the Aboriginal community.

Great Lakes Aboriginal Liaison Committee meets on a quarterly basis and includes representatives from:

  • Forster Local Aboriginal Land Council;
  • Karuah Local Aboriginal Land Council;
  • Great Lakes Council;
  • Community members.

Aboriginal Liaision Committee Terms of Reference


 Russell Saunders beside Council commissioned aboriginal artwork

Russell Saunders playing digeridoo

Aboriginal History of the Great Lakes

In 1788 there were approximately 300,000 Aborigines in Australia. Divided into over 500 tribes, each tribe had its own distinct territory, dialect, customs and history.

In the Great Lakes district there were two tribes - the Biripi, who inhabited the area between Tuncurry, Taree and Gloucester, and the Worimi, who occupied the land between Barrington Tops and Forster in the north and Maitland and the Hunter River in the south.

Aboriginal History of the Great Lakes 

 Local Aboriginal Land Councils

Forster Local Aboriginal Land Council

Forster Local Aboriginal Land Council covers a geographical area from the Pacific Ocean in the East, to the Central Highlands beyond Gloucester in the West, from Seal Rocks in the South to Hallidays Point in the North.
 'Goanna' aboriginal timber sculpture

Contact Details:

10 Breckenridge Street,

PO Box 384

Ph: 02 6555 5411  or


Karuah Local Aboriginal Land Council

Contact Details:

16 Mustons Road,
PO Box 30,

Ph: 02 4997 5733

Detail of aboriginal artwork

Contact Details:
Related Links:
Last Updated: 23/07/2012